Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s very first performance, premiered in 1982. Fase comprises three duets and one solo, choreographed to four repetitive compositions by the American composer Steve Reich. De Keersmaeker uses the structure of Reich’s music to develop an independent movement idiom that doesn’t merely illustrate the music but also adds a new dimension to it. Both the music and the dance start from the principle of phase shifting through tiny variations: movements that are initially perfectly synchronous gradually start slipping and sliding, resulting in a complex play of continuously changing forms and patterns.

Title : Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

Year : 1982

Type : dance performance

Choreography : Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Created with : 
Jennifer Everhard (Come Out)
Michèle Anne De Mey (Piano Phase, Clapping Music)

Music : Steve Reich
– Piano Phase (1967)
– Come Out (1966)
– Violin Phase (1967)
– Clapping Music (1972)

Light design : 
Mark Schwentner (Violin Phase, Come Out)
Rémon Fromont (Piano Phase, Clapping Music)

Costumes : Martine André, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Production : Rosas, De Munt / La Monnaie